Whats your D’oh Moment?

Don’t you hate it when you remember what you should have done after you’ve already done something and regret it?  I’m not talking about anything major but just the simple things that make you wanna smack your forehead D’oh!

Like last night I was making dinner and my recipe only called for a 1/2 or so of chicken broth……so i poured out the rest and went on cooking.  Then while cleaning up I remembered something I saw on Pinterest where someone said to pour the unused portions in ice trays and freeze it.  Then when you need it you can just pull it out of the freezer and plop (yup, that’s one of my cooking terms) it right in with the rest of the ingredients or melt it in the microwave and stir it right in.  And that was my D’oh moment last night!

So what was i making for dinner last night you might ask?  Well my friends call it Gina’s Chicken Casserole……..it’s made its way all the way to Italy!  I have some friends in the military and they are stationed in Italy and have made it several times for their friends over there!  Cool huh?

So here is the recipe

Casserole
1 roasted chicken or 2-3 chicken breasts (baked)
1 cup of cooked rice
1 can of cream of mushroom soup & 1/2 cup of sour cream
OR
1 can cream of celery soup & 1 can of cream of chicken soup
1/2 of chicken broth

Topping
1/2 sleeve buttery crackers (like Ritz)
2 tbsp melted butter

Directions
Chop up chicken (I usually chop it up fine cause I don’t like chunks of chicken in mine)
Mix all together and pour in a 9×13 dish.

Sprinkle top with crushed crackers then sprinkle with butter

Bake at 350 until crackers are browned a little

 

Yum Yum Eat’em Up!

Leave a Reply

