Color my Cookies

So about a while back I was blessed with a Kitchen Aide Mixer, yes you read that right, blessed!   I’ve only made a few things with it and today wanted something extra special.  So I decided to make pink chocolate chip cookies.  And they turned out wonderful!  My husband even liked them and he is picky about his cookies!!

Ingredients

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, slightly softened
1 (17.5 oz.) pouch Betty Crocker sugar cookie mix
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1/2 cup flour
2 egg WHITES (do not use whole egg or the yolk will turn cookies orange)
red food coloring (about 12-14 drops, or until desired pink color is achieved)
1 cup baking chips (dark chocolate, semi-sweet chocolate, milk chocolate, white chocolate or candy pieces like M&Ms)

Preheat oven to 375°

Cream butter and cookie mix. Add powdered sugar and flour and mix until well blended and crumbs are fine. Add egg whites and mix until well blended and mixture sticks together.  Add red food coloring, several drops at a time, mixing after each addition until desired pink color is achieved and is uniform throughout the dough. Stir in chocolate pieces.

Drop by rounded spoonful and bake for 10 minutes

I did my first batch on a cookie sheet then i got the bright idea to use my whoopie pie pan.  They turned out very cute and very chewy just like my husband likes them.

 

I’m guessing you could use just about any color to make them.  And I didn’t taste the food coloring at all.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

